Mossley Academy Trust Governing Body

Mossley CE Primary School became an academy on 1st August 2014. This means that we are an academy trust and a registered company, limited by guaranteed.

4 governors were originally appointed as members of the Academy Trust and signed a memorandum of association. Members meet as required and at least once a year.

Current Members are:         

Mr Andy Mitchell Chair of Governors
Mr Edward Whitehead

Chair of Resources Committee

Mrs Rebecca Simpson          Vice Chair of Governors & Chair of Curriculum & Pupil Progress Comittee
Mr Jeff Turnbull Diocesan Director of Education


The governing body remains the employer and the admissions authority and the land and buildings are held in trust by trustees (governors). The governing body is made up of governors who have been appointed as directors of the company. Governors have entered into a funding agreement with the Department for Education which includes the Memorandum and Articles of Association for the company. A copy of this document can be accessed via this link.

The governing body continues to work in partnership with the Headteacher, staff, parents and students to raise standards of achievement. The governing body has a strong focus on three core strategic functions: ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction, holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its students, and the performance management of staff; and overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent. Our governing body meets six times a year.The Resources Committee six times a year; and the Curriculum and Pupil Progress Committee six times a year. The governors are also involved with visits to the school and regularly support special events.

Governors are either elected or appointed: Parent governors are elected from the parent body; the governing body appoints co-opted governors; school staff nominate and elect staff governors; the headteacher is an Ex-Oficio Governor; four governors are appointed by the Chester Diocese; two governors are appointed by members. Individual govenors have no powers themselves and always act corporately. The governors' term of office is four years.

Current Governing Body membership is as follows:

Nick Barnes Sharon Hennam-Dale
Andy Mitchell (Trustee) Becky Simpson (Trustee)
Grace Street  
Rev.d Canan David Taylor (Trustee) Helen Harrison (Deputy Head)
Dr Graham (Howard) Bould Ben Heades
Dorothy Dentith Liz Knibbs
Mr Edward Whitehead (Trustee) Sue Aston
Mrs Sue Mills  
Mr Keith Smith  

Mossley School Governors can be contacted via the school.

Tel: 01260 272451


Mrs Elizabeth Whitehurst - Responsible Officer





Files to Download

Other pages

Get In Touch

Boundary Lane, Congleton

Cheshire, CW12 3JA

Main Contact: Mrs S Brereton or Mrs L Knibbs

Tel: 01260 272451